This article discusses how you can configure Omniscope Evo permissions to create certain Roles when setting up the folder permissions. For more information on how to configure permissions see here. In order to create roles the role MUST be created inside a Group


If you want to create site-wide roles, which are applied to any folder regardless of sub-folder permissions, you should create these as "super-groups" in the default permissions. 


Server admin


If you want to create a "Server" wide admin role we recommend you set this up by creating a "super-group", which has all the permissions enabled - setting all the permission to be true. We recommend you set the super-group on the default permissions.


By creating the group inside a super-group you would ensure that you would be able to login as server admin regardless of what permissions are set on any given folder.



Editor (With workflow access)


If you want to create a role where the user can edit and run the data workflows, and build / publish workflows you should set the following permission set to YES, and the rest to No:


  • File management
  • List directory 
  • Project editor
  • Project publisher
  • Download file
  • Access to static resource
  • Design views
  • Edit bookmarks
  • Export view data


If you wish to automate the data refresh you can use the scheduler application.


NOTE: If you have Project editor permission - you are automatically able to edit any "Reports" it contains.



Editors (Report only editors)


If you want to create editors who are only allowed to edit the reports/visualisations, and you do not want them to have access to the Workflow app, you should set the following permissions to Yes and the rest to No:


  • List directory
  • Access to static resource
  • Shared report editor
  • Shared report data refresh (only if you want them to be able to refresh the data)
  • Export view data
  • Download file (if you want them to be able to download the project)
  • Design views (If you want them to be able to design views you would need to give them Workflow access)
  • Workflow execution via APIs (if you want them to be able to execute workflow blocks using API)


NOTE: Report editors can also be configured on a per-report basis.



Viewers (Report only viewers)


If you want to create users who are only allowed to view the reports to explore and examine the data, then you should set the follow permissions to Yes and the rest to No:


  • List directory
  • Access to static resource
  • Shared report viewer
  • Shared report data refresh (only if you want them to be able to refresh the data)
  • Export view data (only if you want them to be able to download the data shown inside views)